OU Football

Big 12 Releases 2020 Preseason All-Conference Selections

Big 12 Releases 2020 Preseason All-Conference Selections

NORMAN- The Big 12 Conference announced the preseason All-Conference team today.

The Oklahoma Sooners and Texas Longhorns led the way with five selections apiece. Following shortly behind, the Oklahoma State Cowboys had four players named to the first team.

The Big 12 released the 2020 Preseason All-Conference Team Thursday afternoon. The Preseason Poll is expected to be released Friday at 2 p.m.


Cowboy running back Chuba Hubbard snagged the big honor however. He was named the preseason Offensive Player of the Year, matching the big expectations for the returning star. 

Hubbard led the nation in rushing last season, racking up 2,094 yards and 21 touchdowns (tied for third in the country). An early Heisman Trophy hopeful, Hubbard will hope to improve on last season’s numbers as he seemed to feel the effects of his 328 carries late in the season.

On the defensive side of the ball, West Virginia defensive lineman Darius Stills was named the Defensive Player of the Year. The 6-foot-1, 282 pound nose tackle led the Mountaineers with 14.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks last season.

Highly touted freshman quarterback Spencer Rattler was named the Newcomer of the Year for 2020. The Oklahoma quarterback follows in the footsteps of Jalen Hurts who was also named the Newcomer of the Year ahead of the 2019 season. Rattler has yet to be named the starter by Sooners head coach Lincoln Riley.

Sam Ehlinger returns as the signal caller for the Longhorns and was named the first team quarterback. Ehlinger beat out Iowa State quarterback Brock Purdy, the Cowboys’ Spencer Sanders and Rattler for the honor for the second straight season. 

Completing 65 percent of his passes, Ehlinger set career highs in passing yards and touchdowns, posting 3,663 yards and 32 scores last season. He also threw a career high in interceptions with 10, a number head coach Tom Herman will want to drop this season.

Norman North High School graduate Charlie Kolar was the tight end selection on the team. Kolar’s selection should come as no surprise following his 2019 campaign which saw Kolar haul in 697 receiving yards and seven touchdowns. 

An experienced crop of players, the 2020 All-Conference team boasts nine seniors and 17 juniors. 

The 2020 Big 12 Preseason Poll is scheduled to be released Friday at 2 p.m. 

OU Football

Ryan Chapman covers Oklahoma Athletics and the Oklahoma City Thunder for 107.7 The Franchise since 2019. In December of 2020, Chapman was named the Deputy Editor of Sports Illustrated Sooners, and he also is a contributor for Sports Illustrated Thunder. Chapman has previously worked for OCCC's Student Newspaper, The Pioneer, where Chapman covered the Oklahoma City Energy, the Oklahoma City Dodgers, Oklahoma Athletics and the Oklahoma City Thunder. During his time with The Pioneer, Chapman served as the Sports Editor as well as the Editor-in-Chief.

More in OU Football

OU President Joe Harroz, AD Joe Castiglione. and Coach Bob Stoops Take Questions From The Oklahoma Media

The FranchiseNovember 29, 2021

Why Oklahoma Again Turned to Bob Stoops

Ryan ChapmanNovember 29, 2021

Joe Castiglione May Have to Break Precedent With Oklahoma Hire

Ryan ChapmanNovember 29, 2021

Bowl game Bob: OU players, officials react to Stoops’ return

Ryan NovozinskyNovember 29, 2021

‘Sick to my stomach’: OU players react to Lincoln Riley leaving for USC

Ryan NovozinskyNovember 28, 2021

The Franchise