OSU Basketball

Sooners and Cowboys on full display at the Home Depot College Football Awards show

(via FootballFoundation)
Sooners and Cowboys on full display at the Home Depot College Football Awards show

The Home Depot College Football Awards show has not been as kind to Oklahoma and Oklahoma State over the last few years as it will this year. Baker Mayfield is expected to win at least three awards tonight (Maxwell, Davey O’ Brien, and Walter Camp Award*), but he will be joined by Mark Andrews (John Mackey Award Winner) Orlando Brown (Outland Finalist), James Washington (Biletnikoff) as players who are expected win awards. Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph will also be in Atlanta as he is a finalist for the Davey O’Brian Award with Mayfield.

The show is set to being at 6:00 PM CT on ESPN as a plethora of college football’s most prestigious trophies will be handed out. A full list:

Chuck Bednarik Award (Top Defensive Player)

DE Bradley Chubb, NC State
S Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
LB Roquan Smith, Georgia

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Most Outstanding Receiver)

Michael Gallup, Colorado State
David Sills V, West Virginia
James Washington, Oklahoma State

Lou Groza Award (Top Place-Kicker)

Daniel Carlson, Auburn
Dominik Eberle, Utah State
Matt Gay, Utah

Ray Guy Award (Top Punter)

Michael Dickson, Texas
JK Scott, Alabama
Mitch Wishnowski, Utah

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year)

RB Saquon Barkley, Penn State
RB Bryce Love, Stanford
QB Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Davey O’Brien Award (Best Quarterback)

JT Barrett, Ohio State
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State

Outland Trophy (Best Lineman)

OT Orlando Brown, Oklahoma
OG Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame
DT Ed Oliver, Houston

Jim Thorpe Award (Top Defensive Back)

S DeShon Elliot, Texas
S Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
CB Josh Jackson, Iowa

Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back)

Saquon Barkley, Penn State
Bryce Love, Stanford
Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

*The Walter Camp Award will be handed out in the hour before the Awards show on SportsCenter. As mentioned, Baker Mayfield is a finalist. 

More in OSU Basketball

Sporting News: Here’s how Texas Tech used the pain of last year’s loss to Villanova to fuel Sweet Sixteen return

John E. HooverMarch 24, 2019

John E. Hoover: As analytics move basketball toward shooting and scoring, Texas Tech clings to its defense

John E. HooverMarch 23, 2019

Sporting News: Iowa State’s Steve Prohm, Jamie Pollard address Alabama rumors

John E. HooverMarch 23, 2019

John E. Hoover: Texas Tech overcomes slow start with defense, Jarrett Culver

John E. HooverMarch 22, 2019

Sporting News: Chris Beard was the perfect coach at the perfect time for Texas Tech’s revival

John E. HooverMarch 21, 2019

The Franchise