Oklahoma State Cowboys

REPORT: Eddie Sutton will be inducted into the 2020 Naismith Hall of Fame

REPORT: Eddie Sutton will be inducted into the 2020 Naismith Hall of Fame

Legendary Oklahoma State coach Eddie Sutton, who served as the Men’s Basketball head coach from 1990-2006, has been informed that he will be part of the 2020 Naismith Hall of Fame class after being named a finalist for the seventh time.

This was first reported by the Tulsa World’s Bill Haisten and Frank Bonner.

The official announcement for the Hall of Fame is scheduled for Saturday, April 4 on ESPN at 11 a.m.

Other finalists included in this class will be Baylor’s Kim Mulkey, Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Barbara Stevens (Bentley University), Rudy Tomjanovich (Houston Rockets), Kevin Garnett, Tim Duncan, and the late Kobe Bryant.

Sutton, 84, left his mark on Oklahoma State restoring honor to the basketball program and enhancing the tradition of Gallagher-Iba Arena upon his hiring in 1990.

As a former player under iconic OSU coach Henry Iba (1954-58), Sutton was well aware of the Cowboy tradition and led the Cowboys to the Sweet Sixteen his first two seasons serving as head coach. This ended the Cowboys’ eight-year NCAA Tournament drought.

Coach Sutton paved the way for the Cowboys to regain power rankings in 1995 as the Pokes captured a share of the Big Eight Championship and were awarded a bid to the Final Four in Seattle led by Bryant Reeves, better known as Big Country, and Randy Rutherford.

The list goes on and on for Coach Sutton’s accomplishments during his 37 years as a coach, but a few big ones to note are as followed:

  • 806 career wins as a head coach
  • 13 NCAA Tournament berths during his 16-year tenure at Oklahoma State
  • Four-time National Coach of the Year
  • Three Final Four appearances (1995, 2004 – Oklahoma State) (1978 – Arkansas)
  • Seven total recognitions as a Finalist for the Naismith Hall of Fame

To honor the legendary coach, Oklahoma State University officially renamed the basketball court inside Gallagher-Iba Arena the Eddie Sutton Court on Jan. 15, 2005. Sutton was later honored for his dedication to the university and the athletics program in a ceremony performed on the court, his court, on Feb. 21, 2007.

Sutton had the honor of being inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in November 2011 along with Bob Knight, Ralph Sampson, Cazzie Russell, James Worthy, Chris Mullin, Eddie Einhorn, and Joe Vancisin, the longtime executive director of the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Sutton is the first coach to take four different schools to the NCAA Tournament, and though he finished his coaching career at the University of San Francisco in April 2008, his legacy lives on at Oklahoma State University as Cowboy fans and basketball fans everywhere rejoice in his bid to the 2020 Naismith Hall of Fame.

It’s about damn time.

Congratulations, Coach Sutton!


Oklahoma State Cowboys

Graduated from Oklahoma State University; Have been covering college sports and the Oklahoma City Thunder for two years as a reporter and a videographer for 107.7 The Franchise.

More in Oklahoma State Cowboys

Oklahoma State announces new Athletic Dirctor

Ryan ChapmanMarch 4, 2021

The Thunder Rebuild Report 1/19

Christine ButterfieldJanuary 19, 2021

The wait is over: The Cowboys are back in action Saturday against the Cyclones

Madysson MorrisOctober 23, 2020

Oklahoma State vs. Baylor officially postponed due to COVID-19 outbreak

Madysson MorrisOctober 12, 2020

Cowboys through 3 games: Overcoming adversity and pushing forward

Madysson MorrisOctober 9, 2020

The Franchise