NCAA Football

OU football: Murray, Seibert honored with Big 12 weekly awards

OU football: Murray, Seibert honored with Big 12 weekly awards

Iowa State defensive back D’Andre Payne, center, chases down Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray during the first half of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Sept. 15, 2018, in Ames, Iowa. (AP Photo/Matthew Putney)

NORMAN – Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Austin Kendall were named Big 12 Offensive and co-Special Teams Players of the Week, the conference announced Monday.

Murray, a redshirt junior from Allen, Texas, picked up the honor for the second week in a row. He threw for a career-high 348 yards and three touchdowns while rushing for a team-high 77 yards. His 207.4 efficiency rating helped the No. 5 Sooners (3-0 overall, 1-0 Big 12) knock off Iowa State, 37-27.

Seibert made a career-high tying three field goals, including a 42-yarder that sealed the Sooners’ victory. He punted twice with a 48.5-yard average. All eight of his kickoffs resulted in touchbacks.

The Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week award is Seibert’s fourth. He was honored twice last season and once in 2016.

OU concludes its nonconference slate when Army comes to Norman for a 6 p.m. kickoff on Saturday.

NCAA Football

Cameron Jourdan has covered Oklahoma State athletics since January 2017. He has written for The Oklahoman, The Tuscaloosa News and the Stillwater News Press, among others. Follow Cameron on Twitter: @Cam_Jourdan

More in NCAA Football

John E. Hoover: All Kyler Murray needed was to follow the advice of those who know

John E. HooverFebruary 11, 2019

John E. Hoover: Kyler Murray one step closer to playing pro football

John E. HooverFebruary 7, 2019

John E. Hoover: Bob Stoops, the new sheriff in Dallas, has his reasons for taking on the XFL

John E. HooverFebruary 7, 2019

John E. Hoover: Sooners add one on National Signing Day

John E. HooverFebruary 6, 2019

John E. Hoover: Lincoln Riley is now the $6 million man; Alex Grinch becomes highest-paid assistant in OU history

John E. HooverJanuary 30, 2019

The Franchise