Oklahoma Sooners

OU football: Murray named semifinalist for Maxwell Award

OU football: Murray named semifinalist for Maxwell Award

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray (1) throws in front of Kansas State defensive end Reggie Walker (51) in the first half of an NCAA college football game in Norman, Okla., Saturday, Oct. 27, 2018. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki)

NORMAN – Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, it was announced Monday.

The Sooners’ signal caller has amassed 2,329 yards and 28 touchdowns through the air this season. Additionally, he has rushed for 474 yards and six touchdowns. His play has helped lead OU to the forefront of the discussion to head back to the College Football Playoff.

The list was narrowed to 20 semifinalists Monday. Others included are Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa, Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins and West Virginia’s Will Grier.¬†Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 19, and the winner will be selected Dec. 6 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Former OU quarterback Baker Mayfield won the award in 2017.

The Sooners return to action Saturday in Lubbock, Texas. OU and Texas Tech will kickoff at 7 p.m., and the game will be televised on ABC.

Oklahoma Sooners

Cameron Jourdan has covered Oklahoma State athletics since January 2017. He has written for The Oklahoman, The Tuscaloosa News and the Stillwater News Press, among others. Follow Cameron on Twitter: @Cam_Jourdan

More in Oklahoma Sooners

Oklahoma State Wins Series Against Oklahoma, Both Teams Set For Final Regular-Season Series

Tim NearyMay 15, 2019

BIG 12 SOFTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP: No. 1 Oklahoma run-rules Texas Tech in 6 innings

Madysson MorrisMay 11, 2019

John E. Hoover: College football is so much better with Oklahoma-Georgia on the schedule

John E. HooverMay 6, 2019

John E. Hoover: With NFL Draft, Bill Bedenbaugh’s masterpiece is complete … now he needs an encore

John E. HooverApril 27, 2019

John E. Hoover: From Kyler to Hollywood, GMs & coaches describe how two Sooners landed in the first round

John E. HooverApril 26, 2019

The Franchise