Oklahoma State Cowboys

Oklahoma State Men’s Golf captures 2018 NCAA National Championship title

Oklahoma State Men’s Golf captures 2018 NCAA National Championship title

The Oklahoma State Men’s Golf team came out on top Wednesday afternoon capturing the program’s 11th team NCAA national title defeating the Alabama Crimson Tide.

The Cowboy golf team had the privilege of playing in front of a sea of orange as more than 3,000 OSU fans from all over came to their home course, Karsten Creek, to cheer on the boys as they shut out Alabama 5-0 to take the title. This marked the first-ever shutout win in a championship match.

                                                                  Photos courtesy of Colby Powell

The Cowboys had a dominant 2017-18 season winning eight of their 10 regular season events, picking up their 13th NCAA regional title, and has placed in the top five 54 times in the program’s history.

The Cowboys clinched a spot in the championship match defeating the No. 5 seed Auburn on Tuesday, 3-2. This was the third time for the Cowboys to advance since the championships added match play back in 2009.

Alabama came into the championship match as a No. 6 seed, while Oklahoma State entered as the No. 1 seed.

Cowboys partaking in the quest to the National Championship included Matthew Wolff (Fr.), Kristoffer Ventura (Sr.), Zach Bauchou (Jr.), Austin Eckroat (Fr.), and Viktor Hovland (So.). This group of Cowboys made history becoming the first No. 1 seed to win the NCAA title.

Matthew Wolff was also honored as the 2018 Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award recipient to accommodate his national championship. Wolff is the first Oklahoma State golfer since 2009 to capture this award, and joins past Cowboys such as Pablo Martin (2005), Jonathan Moore (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), and Morgan Hoffman (2009) as Mickelson Award winners.

This is OSU’s first time claiming the NCAA National Championship title since 2006, and this national title adds on to the long list of Oklahoma State national title’s coming in as the athletic program’s 52nd overall. Head coach of the Cowboys, Alan Bratton, is the fourth coach to the lead Cowboy golf to a national title behind Labron Harris, Mike McGraw and current OSU Athletics Director Mike Holder.

Final Scores

Austin Eckroat (OSU) 1 up Davis Shore (Alabama)

Viktor Hovland (OSU) 4 & 3 Lee Hodges (Alabama)

Kristoffer Ventura (OSU) 3 & 2 Wilson Furr (Alabama)

Matthew Wolff (OSU) 4 & 3 Davis Riley (Alabama)

Zach Bauchou (OSU) 8 & 7 Jonathan Hardee (Alabama)

Oklahoma State Cowboys

Graduated from Oklahoma State University; Have been covering college sports and the Oklahoma City Thunder for two years as a reporter and a videographer for 107.7 The Franchise.

More in Oklahoma State Cowboys

OSU football: Hill tabbed Big 12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Cameron JourdanDecember 11, 2018

OSU basketball: Free-throw struggles continue to hamper Cowboys in loss at Tulsa

Cameron JourdanDecember 5, 2018

OSU football: Justice Hill, Larry Williams to sit out bowl game

Cameron JourdanDecember 3, 2018

OSU football: Cowboys headed to Memphis for Liberty Bowl matchup with Missouri

Cameron JourdanDecember 2, 2018

OSU basketball: Free-throw woes doom Cowboys in loss at U.S. Bank Stadium Classic

Cameron JourdanDecember 1, 2018

The Franchise