John Hoover

John E. Hoover: On the eve of his Heisman trip, OU’s Kyler Murray wins AP Player of the Year

John E. Hoover: On the eve of his Heisman trip, OU’s Kyler Murray wins AP Player of the Year

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray (1) during an NCAA college football game between Army and Oklahoma in Norman, Okla., Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki)

Major awards have started rolling in for Kyler Murray.
The Oklahoma quarterback was named Associated Press National Player of the Year on Thursday, one day before he flies to New York as a finalist for the 84th Heisman Trophy.
The AP has awarded a national player of the year trophy since 1998, and Murray is the Sooners’ fifth winner — all quarterbacks. He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003), Sam Bradford (2008) and Baker Mayfield (2017). No other school has produced more than two AP Player of the Year awards.
The Sooners’ last three AP players of the year also went on to win the Heisman.
Fifteen of the 20 previous AP players of the year also won the Heisman that year.
Murray received 39 of the 56 first-place votes for the AP award.
Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa received 13 first-place votes, while Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins got the other four. Murray, Tagovailoa and Haskins are the top-three vote getters in the Heisman race and will be in New York for this weekend’s Heisman festivities.
Murray and the others are currently in Orlando for the College Football Awards Show, which will be televised by ESPN Thursday night. Murray is a finalist for the Maxwell Award as national player of the year (along with Tagovailoa and West Virginia quarterback Will Grier), the Davey O’Brien Award as college football’s best quarterback (with Tagovailoa and Washington State’s Gardner Minshew), and on Thursday was named a finalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award as the best football player in the nation from or playing in Texas.
If Murray wins the Heisman, he’ll be the Sooners’ Heisman Trophy winner, tying Ohio State, Notre Dame and USC for the most of any program. On the heels of Mayfield’s win last season, he would make OU just the fifth school with back-to-back winners (Yale, Army, Ohio State and USC).

Columnist John E. Hoover is co-host of “The Franchise Drive” every weeknight from 6-8 on The Franchise in Oklahoma City and Tulsa, and appears throughout the day on other shows on The Franchise. Listen at fm107.7 in OKC, fm107.9/am1270 in Tulsa, on The Franchise app, or click the “Listen” tab on The Franchise home page. Hoover also covers the Big 12 for Sporting News and Lindy’s magazine and is a feature writer for Sooner Spectator magazine. Visit his personal page at

John Hoover

Hoover wrote for the Tulsa World for 24 years before joining The Franchise, where he's now co-host of "Further Review" on The Franchise Tulsa (weekdays 12-3, fm107.9/am1270) . In his time at the World, Hoover won numerous writing and reporting awards, including in 2011 National Beat Writer of the Year from the Associated Press Sports Editors for his work covering the Oklahoma Sooners. Hoover also covered Oklahoma State, Arkansas, Oral Roberts and the NFL as a beat writer. From 2012 to 2016, Hoover was the World's lead sports columnist. As a columnist, Hoover won national awards in 2012 and 2014 from the National Athletic Trainers Association for reporting on sports medicine and in 2015 won first place in sports columns from the Oklahoma Society of Professional Journalists. After receiving a journalism degree from East Central University, Hoover worked at newspapers in Ada, Okmulgee, Tahlequah and Waynesville, Mo. He played football at Ada High School and grew up in North Pole, Alaska. Hoover and his family live in Broken Arrow.

More in John Hoover

John E. Hoover: No. 1 recruit Brock Vandagriff commits to Oklahoma

John E. HooverJune 20, 2019

VIDEO: Baker Mayfield youth football camp

John E. HooverJune 19, 2019

John E. Hoover: It’s official: Josh Heupel, Roy Williams give Bob Stoops his first Hall of Fame candidates

John E. HooverJune 3, 2019

John E. Hoover: Softball World Series is a profound reunion for Gasso, Gajewski and Walton

John E. HooverMay 30, 2019

John E. Hoover: College football is so much better with Oklahoma-Georgia on the schedule

John E. HooverMay 6, 2019

The Franchise