NCAA Football

Gundy 2nd, Riley 4th in salary for Big 12 coaches

Gundy 2nd, Riley 4th in salary for Big 12 coaches

Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy at the start of an NCAA college football game in Stillwater, Okla., Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018.(AP Photo/Brody Schmidt)

Mike Gundy is the 10th-highest paid college football coach, according to a USA Today database that updated Wednesday.

The Oklahoma State coach is making $5 million annually, which is tied with Illinois’ Lovie Smith, Nebraska’s Scott Frost and Florida State’s Willie Taggert.

Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley is 16th on the list, making $4.8 million a season. Gundy is the second-highest paid Big 12 coach, trailing Texas’ Tom Herman. The Longhorns’ coach makes $5.5 million annually, which is 9th-most in college football.

The third-highest paid Big 12 coach is Gary Patterson. He’s making $4,840,717 this season, which is 14th among college coaches.

The lowest paid Big 12 coach is Kansas’ David Beaty, with a salary of a little more than $1.7 million this season.

Nick Saban leads the pack, making $8,307,000 million this season. Following Saban are Ohio State’s Urban Meyer, Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh, Texas A&M’s Jimbo Fisher and Auburn’s Gus Malzahn.

13 coaches are making make at least $5 million this season.

NCAA Football

Cameron Jourdan has covered Oklahoma State athletics since January 2017. He has written for The Oklahoman, The Tuscaloosa News and the Stillwater News Press, among others. Follow Cameron on Twitter: @Cam_Jourdan

More in NCAA Football

John E. Hoover: All Kyler Murray needed was to follow the advice of those who know

John E. HooverFebruary 11, 2019

John E. Hoover: Kyler Murray one step closer to playing pro football

John E. HooverFebruary 7, 2019

John E. Hoover: Bob Stoops, the new sheriff in Dallas, has his reasons for taking on the XFL

John E. HooverFebruary 7, 2019

John E. Hoover: Sooners add one on National Signing Day

John E. HooverFebruary 6, 2019

John E. Hoover: Lincoln Riley is now the $6 million man; Alex Grinch becomes highest-paid assistant in OU history

John E. HooverJanuary 30, 2019

The Franchise