OU Football

Baker Mayfield named AP National Player of the Year

Baker Mayfield named AP National Player of the Year

The Associated Press just announced that Baker Mayfield is their 2017 National Player of the Year. This is the first of many awards that Mayfield is expected to win over the course of the next 72 hours.

Mayfield becomes the fourth Oklahoma player to be given the award. The others to do it were Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003), and Sam Bradford (2008). White and Bradford also won the Heisman those seasons, while Josh Heupel finished as a runner-up. The award has been given out since 1998, and only three schools have multiple winners: Oklahoma (four), USC (two), and Florida (two).

“This is special to me,” Mayfield said in a statement from Atlanta, Georgia as he is attending the Home Depot College Football Awards show. “I’m on this awards trip right now with a lot of great players from OU and other schools, and every one of them deserves to be recognized. To receive this award is an honor and it’s something just a few years ago I never thought would happen. Obviously I’m very happy and thankful that I’m being recognized with this.”

This honor comes before Mayfield could be given the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, and Davey O’ Brien Award tonight at the Home Depot College Football Awards show. The show begins at 6 PM CT tonight on ESPN.

OU Football

More in OU Football

OU football: Baker Mayfield does not disappoint in first trip back to Norman

Kegan ReneauFebruary 18, 2018

Sporting News Top 25: Previewing the 2018 Texas Longhorns

John E. HooverFebruary 14, 2018

John E. Hoover: Riley’s latest home run was ‘anticlimactic’ but keeps Sooners on the right path

John E. HooverFebruary 8, 2018

Faith, Facebook and Financial gain

Andrew GilmanFebruary 7, 2018

Dimitri Flowers Joins The Franchise Players

Colby PowellJanuary 29, 2018

The Franchise