OU Football

Baker Mayfield begins and ends the Home Depot College Football Awards

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield (6) waves to the crowd as he is announced on Senior Day, before the West Virginia-Oklahoma NCAA college football game in Norman, Okla., Saturday, Nov. 25, 2017. At left is his mom, Gina Mayfield. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki)
Baker Mayfield begins and ends the Home Depot College Football Awards

Many knew that Baker Mayfield was heading into awards’ season with the possibility of sweeping the entire field of trophies that he was in the running for. It did not get started in Arkansas as Washington State quarterback Luke Falk won the Burlsworth Trophy (best player who started as a walk-on) over Mayfield–who had won the trophy the last two years. It did not get started in Baltimore, either, as the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award was given to Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph.

That is when all eyes were set on last night as the start of Mayfield’s awards. However, it got started a little bit early as the Associated Press honored Mayfield earlier in the day with their National Player of the Year. Then, it was before the Awards’ show when Mayfield was honored as the Walter Camp Player of the Year. He was given an interview on SportsCenter 6 with Michael Smith and Jemele Hill that saw Mayfield answer some tough questions about his past endeavors on-and-off the field.

The awards show began with Orlando Brown “protecting” Mayfield from any tough questions from host Chris Fowler. Soon after, the Davey O’Brien presentation kicked off the awards that would be handed out. The expectation was for Mayfield to win despite Mason Rudolph putting up better stats this season. And as expected, Mayfield became the fourth Sooner to win the award that is distinguished for the nation’s best quarterback (Billy Simms won the award in 1978 before the O’Brien became strictly for quarterbacks).

The show rolled on. Oklahoma State wide receiver won the Biletnikoff award for the nation’s most outstanding receiver. He became the seventh Big 12 wide receiver in the last eleven years to win the award. Mayfield then accepted the Mortell HOTY award for Oklahoma holder Connor McGinnis in a corny video that is a must-watch:

To end the night, Mayfield was in the running for the Maxwell Award for the nation’s best player. The Maxwell Award has foreshadowed the winner of the prestigious Heisman Trophy the last three years. Mayfield won it, becoming only the third Sooner to ever win the award (Jason White 2003 and Tommy McDonald 1956). It was his third time to speak during the Home Depot College Football Awards show last night.

Mayfield began the Awards’ show before it even started yesterday. The Oklahoma quarterback took home the AP National Player of the Year and Walter Camp Player of the Year awards before programming took place. He then opened up the show and ended it with the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards before hoisting an even more prestigious trophy on Saturday night.

OU Football

More in OU Football

Solving the Sooner problem: Embrace the offense, dismiss the defense

Andrew GilmanNovember 14, 2018

John E. Hoover: Can Sooners’ offense continue to shoulder the burden of a lousy defense?

John E. HooverNovember 12, 2018

John E. Hoover: Sooners took OSU’s best shot, and still chase ‘every goal we want’

John E. HooverNovember 10, 2018

Ask Hoover: It’s Bedlam week, so of course we talk officiating, hot seats, defensive coordinators, the CFP and … Horns down?

John E. HooverNovember 9, 2018

John E. Hoover: As rivalries go, Bedlam stands alone at the bottom … and is worth every minute

John E. HooverNovember 9, 2018

The Franchise