All-Big 12

All-Big 12

The University of Oklahoma dominated the All-Big 12 first team with nine selections: Baker Mayfield, Samaje Perine, Sterling Shepard, Ty Darlington, Nila Kasitati, Charles Tapper, Dominique Alexander, Eric Striker and Zack Sanchez.
Oklahoma State had just three players named to the first team: Blake Jarwin, Emmanuel Ogbah and Kevin Peterson.
Both state schools were represented with individual awards, with OU garnering three and OSU receiving one.
Bob Stoops was named the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career and the first time since 2008.
Baker Mayfield joined Josh Heupel, Jason White and Sam Bradford on the list of Oklahoma Quarterbacks to win the Offensive Player of the Year. QB’s have now won the award in five consecutive seasons.
Dede Westbrook was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year. He’s in good company with two other Sooners who have won the award; Josh Heupel and Adrian Peterson.
Ok State’s Emmanuel Ogbah shared the Defensive Player of the Year award with Baylor’s Andrew Billings, marking the first time that either school has had a player named Defensive Player of the Year.
TCU had five players named to the first team, while Baylor and Kansas State (the same Kansas State that went 3-6 in conference play) each had four first teamers.
In the “something you don’t see every day” category, Texas had exactly zero players named to the first team. If that doesn’t put a smile on your face, I don’t know what will.


More in College

John E. Hoover: Historic Sooners-Buckeyes game set; Stoops on CFB Rushmore; who else?

John E. HooverMay 25, 2017

Sooners stumble, but Cowboys shock at the Big 12 Baseball Championship; Day One Recap

Kegan ReneauMay 25, 2017

Cowboys Start Big 12 Run With An Upset Over No. 1 Texas Tech

Madysson MorrisMay 24, 2017

Big 12 Baseball Tournament Primer

Kegan ReneauMay 24, 2017

Big 12 Baseball Power Poll: Late May Edition

Randy HeitzMay 23, 2017

The Franchise